Happy Homecoming

Haven’t posted in a while, but there’s a reason for that- Homecoming weekend.

Oh, Homecoming. Students neglect all their obligations for about 48 hours, becoming much more reckless as alumni swarm the campus to reminisce about the days when they did the same. The school is decked out in maroon and gold, lax pinnies with “SENIORS” stamped across the front abound, and whispers of which off-campus houses will be throwing parties tear through the school like wildfire.

This year’s festivities featured some key moments- I wiped the tears off the face of my too-drunk friend at the bar, cheered with my roommates at the pep rally, spent all of Saturday sporting more school spirit gear than I do all year, and allowed my alumni friends to buy me a drink or two “because I’m employed now, thank you.”

Maybe it’s the rosy lenses of nostalgia creeping in a little early, but senior year homecoming finally felt right. I was reunited with some of my best friends, and I imagined what life will be like next year when I experience homecoming as a student-no-longer. As much as I complain about my work for class, I know that the scary and very real “real world” is the ever-approaching next step, and that weekends like this will soon become a thing of the past.

All the school spirit might be getting to me, but I am determined to make every moment left as a college student count. This weekend, as I sat at the local bar that will serve as the backdrop for many of my college-year memories with the friend two years my senior who had brought me there for the first time, I thought about how much had changed- and how much I felt at home.

Life’s going to get crazy soon- so I’m going to take as many hilarious candid shots with my roommates as I can, say “yes” to the opportunities that come my way, and make sure I don’t take these next few months for granted.

Sleep is for the weak. Besides, my bed will still be there when I’m an unemployed post-grad.

Happy Homecoming.

Some of the greatest ladies I know.

Homecoming brings out the dysfunction in all of us.

Leave a Reply

